updated June 27, 2017
There have been a couple law changes in Wisconsin this past decade which dramatically impacted insurance coverages and rates. We include a very brief summary of the two most pivotal law changes impacting Wisconsin Auto Insurance Consumers.
2015 Ride-sharing Law
The legislature signed into law requirements for companies like Uber and Lyft to be held to statewide standards. A minimum liability limit of $1,000,000 must be retained by the company on any of their drivers. It is important to remember this insurance only covers the driver as they are transporting a customer. That driver’s personal liability will cover them under normal operations for personal use. A coverage gap will exist for that driver between the time they are “on the clock” but riderless and the time they pick up a rider. They must obtain a gap coverage endorsement which is avaialble through many companies OR a commercial policy which would be prudent.
2011 Act 14
This Assembly bill essentially rolled back many of the changes from 2009’s Act 28 but left in place mandatory insurance coverage. The entire summary of that bill is here.
For other Wisconsin insurance law changes please visit the OCI site’s laws, rules and bulletins.
2009 Act 28
- Wisconsin Drivers must have active Auto insurance coverage when operating a vehicle.
- Wisconsin Drivers must carry valid proof of that active coverage
- The minimum liability limits for insurance companies issuing policies in Wisconsin shall be $100,000 per person bodily injury, $300,000 per accident bodily injury and $100,000 property damage.
- Minimum uninsured and underinsured liability limits for insurance companies issuing policies in Wisconsin shall be $100,000 per person bodily injury, $300,000.
- Medical payments coverage has increased to the amount of at least $10,000
There are additional changes including the stacking provision. The entire summary of that bill is here.